Reality Check

23 Sep

My car got broken into last night.

Guess that makes me an official Durham resident now.

A neighbor called the police when he saw a man sitting in my car a little after 11 pm. They caught the guy and his partner down the street with my GPS and someone’s iPod. My car was in no way damaged and my GPS was returned to me. Overall, I was incredibly lucky and blessed, and I am very thankful to both my neighbor and the great team of cops who handled the situation. It could have been so much worse, but it wasn’t.

That doesn’t stop me from feeling  violated though. Someone invaded my space and rummaged through my life while I slept completely unaware less than 30 feet away. I know I sound dramatic, but I don’t know any other way to explain it. It was all kind of surreal, seeing the center console  and glove compartment of my car gaping open from the light of a cop’s flashlight through the window, watching the forensic team dust for fingerprints, discussing my part in the legal procedures with an officer, and, worst of all, seeing movement from the backseat of one of the cop cars and knowing that they were in there. Things like this never really happened where I grew up and I never thought it would happen to me. I’ll just have to be even more careful from now on.

I guess the novelty of moving to and living in Durham has officially worn off.

Interesting side note: I did learn that cops are big fans of the show Dexter.

One Response to “Reality Check”

  1. Ann Zdunczyk September 24, 2011 at 12:48 am #

    I really hate this happened to you. I remember our house got broken into when I was in High School and they never found anything or caught anyone. Luckily no one was at home at the time. I wish I could have been there for you.

Leave a Reply

